Biographies of famous sportsmen

The career of Lewis Hamilton from 2011 till now (Part 3)

2015 season: Full dominance

Despite not having the impressive winning sequence as in 2014, Lewis Hamilton took the lead from the first race and won the championship in the US before three races. In this season Hamilton had 10 victories and only 2 failed to reach the podium (about 6 in Hungary and gave up in Singapore).

Besides, the fact that he let Rosberg win the last 3 races has helped this driver regain the confidence to strike back in the 2016 season.

2016 season: Defeated by teammates

Rosberg went on to win four of the opening races of the 2016 season (in a row of seven consecutive victories since last season) to build the top spot. And Hamilton only had 3 times to podium and 1 time to 7. The distance of both now up to 43 points.

Although Lewis Hamilton tried to win the last 4 races, it was not enough to retain the championship title because Rosberg also finished second in all 4 races.

Hamilton and Rosberg

At GP Abu Dhabi, once again Hamilton rejected the racing team’s order and deliberately pinned Rosberg’s speed in the hope that Rosberg will make mistakes but fails. This is the second time Hamilton has lost his teammate.

2017 season: Regain the throne

Overall, Hamilton’s Mercedes is still marginally better than the Italian car, he has won the pole and won 9 times. While Bottas has 4 poles and 3 wins. Ferrari’s numbers are only 5 poles and 5 wins.

Lewis Hamilton regained the throne

In the next Brazilian race, Hamilton had to start from the pitlane because he could not attend the classification race because of a car breakdown but he still finished fourth.

2018 season: The 5th championship

Lewis Hamilton started the 2018 season in a backward fashion. Won the pole but only came second in Australia, then third in Bahrain, fourth in China.

In these victories, remembering in Italy, Hamilton had a collision with Vettel at the start (Vettel was turned). In Brazil, the victory came to Hamilton thanks to the Esteban Ocon cardboard led by Max Verstappen.

5 times championship

With five championships, Hamilton overcame his senior Alain Prost, and rival Sebastian Vettel, to match the late legendary Juan Manuel Fangio.

In the history of this speed sport, only 16 riders have ever won the championship. And before Hamilton won the 2018 season, only two drivers had reached the 5 championship mark: Fangio and Michael Schumacher.